Plug & Play Set Task 3 – Objectify

Using object writing, select four distinct timbral and lyrical semiotic elements that define the theme without making any explicit references to the theme itself.

IMG_2467
My inspiration

While looking through photographs for inspiration I found this, an image of a man who looks weathered, drawn, as if he has lived a hard life. It set me to thinking about his experiences, what wrote the lines on his face? What caused the sadness in his eyes? Is he grieving? Is he lost? Who is he? Unfortunately I’ll never know the answers to these so I must read the photograph like a book, a picture is worth a thousand words after all, and create a narrative for him based on what I see in his pain-stricken eyes.

IMG_2468
The lyrics scribbled in the back of my journal while on the train from Manchester to Cheltenham

 

Lyrics

Verse 1

Light fades as it always does.

The sun hides behind the clouds.

Eyes once bright lose their colour now,

As home falls away to the dust.

 

Chorus

Can you hear me now?

Can you take me home?

Can I hold you hand in mine,

And feel at peace once more?

 

Verse 2

These trials make us hard as stone,

And draw lines through skin once soft.

Sometimes I wake from a dream of home,

A life left long ago.

 

Chorus

Can you hear me now?

Can you take me home?

Can I hold you hand in mine,

And feel at peace once more?

 

The song is telling the story of a man that has lost his life, his home, his family, everything. He longs for the warmth of his loved ones hands and yearns for his happier times that seem to have happened a lifetime ago. The grief and loss he’s felt have made him appear colourless and gaunt, with eyes that show nothing but his pain. I hope this story is portrayed through these lyrics.

Leave a Reply

